The Hartsbrook School

Governance & Administration

Leadership at The Hartsbrook School is provided by the Faculty Conference and the Board of Directors. These two groups jointly hire the Pedagogical Chair and Administrative Chair, who provide pedagogical and administrative leadership, respectively.


The Hartsbrook School is legally organized as a non-profit corporation under the name of the Pioneer Valley Waldorf School Association, Inc. The corporation is responsible for all functions of The Hartsbrook School. It is made up of members of the Board, members of the Faculty Conference, and the founding members of the corporation.

Board of Directors

The Board of Directors holds fiduciary and legal responsibility for the school and maintains ultimate oversight of the school; pedagogical and administrative functions are delegated to the Faculty Conference. The Board and the Conference share responsibility for the fulfillment of the school’s mission, long-range planning and community relations. The Board is composed of parents, faculty, and friends of the school. Its members are voted into office by the members of the Corporation.

Faculty Conference

The Faculty Conference is responsible for the Hartsbrook School’s pedagogical functions, including the school’s spiritual foundations, program, staffing, work with students and families, and the administration necessary to fulfill these functions. The Faculty Conference is composed of faculty members with a long-term commitment to the school who are prepared to take on additional responsibilities in the life of the school. Policies and decisions regarding personnel, economic and legal matters are delegated to the Pedagogical Chair and Administrative Chair.

Pedagogical Chair

The Pedagogical Chair provides pedagogical leadership on behalf of the Faculty Conference.  She/he carries the initiative to ensure that decisions and policies of the Conference are developed and executed in a timely way in personnel matters, pedagogical matters including program development, student well-being and discipline, and family relations with the school. She/he works closely with the Early Childhood, Elementary School, and High School department heads to oversee the pedagogical work of the teachers. The Pedagogical Chair reports to the Faculty Conference and the Board of Directors and is an ex officio member of the Board.

Administrative Chair

The Administrative Chair oversees the non-pedagogical functions of the school:  day-to-day operations, enrollment, development, communications, business office, and facilities management. She/he works jointly with the Pedagogical Chair on implementation of Conference decisions and policies, personnel matters, family relations with the school, school budget planning, and legal, financial, and administrative matters. She/he works closely with upper level administrative staff in handling the day-to-day administrative affairs of the school. The Administrative Chair also reports to the Faculty Conference and the Board of Directors and is an ex officio member of the Board.

Faculty and Staff

The early childhood, grade school and high school faculty meet on Tuesdays after school to address the practical details of school life, to study and do artistic work together, and to share the insights, problems, and rewards arising from our work. Curriculum, schedules, and school events are also discussed at these meetings. On Thursdays, faculty and staff meet for more general topics or to work on artistic, study or focus topics.

The faculty and staff are involved in ongoing professional development through attendance at faculty meetings and through conferences offered throughout the year by Waldorf training institutes and the Association of Waldorf Schools of North America (AWSNA). Each Hartsbrook teacher is observed and evaluated regularly by both Hartsbrook colleagues and experienced colleagues from outside the school. Staff members are also evaluated on a regular basis.

Administrative Staff

The Administrative Staff is primarily responsible for the non-pedagogical functions of the school. The Administrative Staff consists of the Facilities Manager, Development Director, Enrollment Director, Business Manager, Communications Director, and the administrative and maintenance assistants. The Administrative Chair supervises the administrative staff and also has important responsibilities in the areas of communication, coordination, and planning.

Scroll Up